Blog Tour + Giveaway + Let’s Chat: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

February 2, 2016 // Posted by Lisa in Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews // 27 Comments

arrowsbanner
 

Welcome to my stop on the Arrows blog tour! Today I have my thoughts on this adorable book to share with you all, as well as a tour-wide giveaway! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂


 
Blog Tour + Giveaway + Let’s Chat: Arrows by Melissa GorzelanczykArrows
by Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Release Date: January 26th 2016
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via Netgalley
Find It: GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow. Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

lisa chats

Aaryn, the son of Ero, Cupid himself, is on a mission. To become a full cupid himself, he must shoot two people with an error. When he has a little mishap and only brings one arrow, not realizing until one of the couple, Karma, is already shot with one, his mistake is disastrous. When his wrong is discovered one year later, Aaryn is forced to become a human and right his wrong without the use of any arrows. He must make Karma’s boyfriend, Danny, propose to her before the time period is up. But what Aaryn didn’t expect was to form feelings for Karma himself.

Karma was an easy character for me to side with. Though she was completely clueless when it came to her relationship with Danny, and at times I wanted to shake her and show her what she was obviously completely oblivious to, at the same time you really can’t blame her one bit for being so love-struck. She was looking at it all through her love goggles, and just wasn’t able to see how unhealthy and unrealistic her relationship really was. All she wanted to do was keep her little family together. Trying to balance everything as a teenager isn’t easy, and I definitely felt for Karma through all of her struggles.

This story alternated between Karma’s POV and Arryn’s. I adored getting Aaryn’s voice as well. He was so sweet, so adorably clueless, and so thoughtful and uplifting that he was my favorite character in this story. The only thing I would have liked to have seen more of in this story is the Greek mythology aspect. Though it was present and discussed for little bits here and there, I would have liked to have dug a little deeper into that aspect.

This story was so adorable, its cuteness bursting from the pages. But it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows though. Many very real and difficult subject matters were touched upon, including teen pregnancy and parenthood, the pressures of college and admission applications, and most important, unhealthy and bordering on abusive relationships.

The last few chapters of this book basically fly by. I wasn’t sure how this was all going to wrap up, but it was pulled together perfectly. I’m so pleased with how this story turned out. Definitely one of my new favorite super-sweet stories that I’ll be recommending to many. And with Valentine’s Day quickly approaching, this is the perfect sweet story to read this time of year.

 

BUY LINKS:

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble (B&N) | Bookdepository | iTunes | Kobo
 
 
 

divider - arrows2_

 
 
giveaway-new
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

TFFBC followthetour


 

About Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Optional: Her debut novel ARROWS is being published by Delacorte Press on January 26, 2016. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson.


 
lets chat

Have you read Arrows? Does the combination of Greek Mythology and Teen Mom make you want to dive right in?


 

Lisa

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

  • Aahw, this sounds cute! 😀

    • Lisa

      It was! 🙂

  • I want to read this one! I keep hearing how cute it is and yes the Greek Mythology/Teen Mom thing has me super interested. Great review!

    • Lisa

      I think you’ll like this one, Grace! 🙂

  • Aw, what a shame greek mythology aspect wasnt more strongly present in this novel. I am not really into sweet YA romances so I think I will pass. But I am glad that you enjoyed it, Lisa 🙂

    • Lisa

      Thanks, Lucia! 🙂

  • OMG. This sounds so cute! And it takes place in Wisconsin, so I have to read it. Great review.

    • Lisa

      Thanks, Kate! It was definitely super cute. 🙂

  • Glad it all came together beautifully and it really does sound like a fun one for this month!

    • Lisa

      It was! 🙂

  • Oh this sounds so cute ♥

    • Lisa

      It so was. Super cute! 🙂

  • This one sounds fantastic! I love the cover and the entire premise!!

    Great review!!

    • Lisa

      Thanks, Eva! It’s definitely adorable, and great for this time of year! 🙂

  • I love Greek mythology and books featuring it so it definitely sounds like this one was done well! It sounds love a sweet story but with lots of depth as well. Lovely review!

    • Lisa

      Thanks so much, Jeann! 🙂

  • Sounds so cute. I wouldn’t mind giving this one a go.

    • Lisa

      I’d definitely recommend it if you enjoy cute books. 🙂

  • I need to get my hands on this asap! I love Greek mythology and am actually studying ancient Greece at school. There’s been a few great early reviews around lately too so that’s super encouraging. Thanks for hosting a giveaway!

    • Lisa

      How cool!!! Yes, Rachel, you should DEFINITELY read this then!! Though like I said, the Greek Mythology part is present, yet doesn’t go into the depth I had hoped for. Still, it’s definitely worth a read. 🙂

  • Ohh YAY I am so glad you liked this one! I have it and want to read it soon, and I am so glad to hear that it isn’t only fluff, and there are real issues! This makes me extra happy! And the Greek mythology stuff sounds super fun and unique. Great review 😀

    • Lisa

      Awesome, Shannon!! I really think you’ll like this one, and I’m excited to see your thoughts on it once you finish. Enjoy! 🙂

  • Sometimes it’s nice just to read a cute, fun book – this sounds like it would hit the spot!

  • bn100

    sounds interesting

  • Pingback: Becca's Stacking the Shelves and Weekly Recap ~ 1.6.16 - Lost in Literature()

  • I really want to read this one. I loved the cover but hadn’t been interested in it and now reading your review, I’m excited for it! The story seems really interesting and I’ve never read anything regarding cupid.

  • Pingback: Sunday (Monday) Post & Giveaways Galore - 2/8/16 - Feed Your Fiction AddictionFeed Your Fiction Addiction()