Checkmate: This is Love by Kennedy Fox \\ Less Angst, Same Steam!

February 24, 2017 // Posted by Lisa in Reviews // 2 Comments

Checkmate: This is Love by Kennedy Fox \\ Less Angst, Same Steam!Checkmate: This is Love
by Kennedy Fox
Series: Checkmate #2
Release Date: December 13th 2016
Publisher: Self-Published/Indie
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Find It: GoodreadsAmazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Viola Fisher is the epitome of perfection.She despises my one-night stands and mocks my less-than-classy habits.She’s smart, beautiful, and too good to be true.And I want her.

If she were anyone else, I’d have made my move years ago, but considering she’s my best friend’s little sister, she’s always been off-limits. Not to mention how much she loathes my very existence.

Hating me is her religion, but needing her is mine. Her sexy curves and filthy smart mouth make me want her even more, and I’m more determined than ever to change her mind.

I’ll prove I’m done playing games.But until then, we’ll continue to play by her rules.Viola Fisher may have won the battle, but the war isn’t over yet.
Checkmate, princess.

lisa chats

** Though this review is spoiler-free, it may contain spoilers for book one, Checkmate: This is War. **

Viola and Travis (of Checkmate: This is War) are back together again for another story picking up exactly where This is War leaves off! I just knew with that cliffhanger in book 1, I wasn’t going to be able to wait long for book 2… so I immediately downloaded it and started reading. These two stole my heart in the first book, and continued to hold it throughout This is Love.

Everything about this group of characters is a win to me. I adore the friendships, both between Viola and Chelsea, as well as Travis and Drew. True friendships aren’t always the main focus of romance books, but in this series it’s a very important focus of this story, and I love it!! I also love how the sexy times don’t take over the entire story and leave plenty of time to get to know these characters on a deeper level and truly understand who they are on the inside. That’s not to say there aren’t A LOT of sexy times… because there are. And they’re not. Very hot.

“I want you for breakfast, lunch and dinner.”

Though I did miss the angsty back-and-forth bickering between Viola and Travis that was consistent throughout Checkmate: This is War, I still thoroughly enjoyed this one from beginning to end. I simply adore these characters, and getting any time with them at all is a total win to me! I’ve already starting reading Checkmate: This is Reckless… and let me tell you, Drew is EVERYTHING!!! ♥ I just may have found a new book boyfriend. This is definitely a series I recommend to anyone who enjoys romance reads. Kennedy Fox is perfect for fans of J. Daniels, Corinne Michaels and A.L. Jackson.
 

 

About Kennedy Fox

Kennedy Fox is a duo of bestselling authors who share a love of ‘You’ve Got Mail’ and ‘The Holiday’. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate together under a pseudonym and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!


 
lets chat

Have you experienced this incredible secret writing due yet? Is contemporary romance a genre you enjoy?

 
 

Lisa

Tags: , , , , ,

  • Whoa, that cover is steamy… XD Even the quote is steamy! I haven’t read this series or author before! I’m glad you enjoyed this one ;D Wonderful review 🙂

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

  • I am dying to know who they are! I read the first book and I LOVED it. I still need to read this book! I’m glad you liked it so much Lisa.

    Excellent review!

    Michelle @ Book Briefs