What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

June 5, 2017 // Posted by Lisa in Reviews // 2 Comments

What to Say Next by Julie BuxbaumWhat to Say Next
by Julie Buxbaum
Release Date: July 11th 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Find It: GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

lisa chats

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into What to Say Next. I don’t have very much personal knowledge concerning autism, but I felt it was handled quite delicately and realistically, again, based on the little bit I know. I’d honestly love to hear from someone who has first-hand knowledge. I have a feeling they would be quite satisfied with how it was dealt with as well.

Kit has just lost her father and is struggling with her current group of friends, who want her to focus on clothes and boys. David has autism and is often by himself and without friends. In Kat’s desire to escape her friends and their mundane issues, she sits with David at lunch. From there begins their adorable relationship, sure to have you grinning, cringing, and sobbing. Yes, the feels are strong, guys. This book will tear you apart, at least it did me.

I basically adored both Kit and David right from the start. These two teens both struggled from different issues, yet seeing how they affected their daily lives impacted me quite a bit. I adored the way their “labels” didn’t define them in this story. Kit didn’t want to be known as “the girl whose father died”, and David struggled to prove he was better than what his autism spectrum diagnosis portrayed to others about him. Julie Buxbaum is wonderful at addressing such sensitive topics so gracefully. Oh, and guys View Spoiler » This was a quick, easy read in the sense that I was able to fly right through it… but at the same time, it was a powerful one, and I basically sobbed through the second half of the book. This is definitely one I would suggest adding to your TBRs! Yay for a new fantastic diverse read!

 

 

About Julie Buxbaum

Julie Buxbaum is the author of the critically acclaimed The Opposite of Love and After You, and her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Tell Me Three Things is her first young adult novel. Her writing has appeared in various publications, including The New York Times. She is a former lawyer and graduate of Harvard Law School and lives in Los Angeles with her husband, two young children, and an immortal goldfish. Visit Julie online at www.juliebuxbaum.com and follow @juliebux on Twitter.


 
lets chat

Is What to Say Next on your TBR? Have you read it yet?

 
 

Lisa

Tags: , , ,

  • I am so excited for this one since i loved Tell Me Three Things. Glad to hear it was so good. Great review!

  • I shared this one as my WoW post a while back! So glad to see that you enjoyed it! It sounds so good. I’ve never read anything from this author yet but this one really interests me. Great review!